Why not install some applications?

The Computer Emergency Response Team KZ-CERT reports an increase in the number of mobile applications in order to obtain personal information of its users.

The user using the application agrees to grant access to their personal data to the company that manages this application. For example, information about a specific user: location, phone number, information about all the actions in the application that he makes. Also, the application can access the list of contacts, messages, photos, videos and other information.

Developers of applications such as Pootin, GetContact, Who called me, whose number? And Who called, how am I recorded? Request access to the phone book and thereby increase the risk of identity theft of users.

With the advent of social networks, users are also interested in what kind of data are recorded by social platforms, where all their confidential information is stored and how much it is protected from third parties.

Consider this issue on the example of the social network Facebook, which confirmed the fact of scanning personal messages of its users. Representatives of the social network clarified that messages sent via Facebook Messenger are checked for offensive and illegal content.

According to the representative of the company, the images sent by the interlocutors to the chat are scanned, which allows you to quickly identify and respond to illegal content, for example, this applies to photographs showing the exploitation of children. Also, the text of messages is scanned, so Facebook fights against unacceptable and offensive behavior on its platform.

The information collected by this social network can contain your family photos, places you visited, messages that reflect your political ideology, search queries that you entered on Facebook pages and much more.

How to choose the right application

First, review several applications and compare:

  • Description (which functions of the application, language);
  • How many times have they been downloaded?
  • What are their assessments;
  • What other users write comments.

The more downloads and the higher the score, the less chance there will be of trouble.

If the application has icons "Editor's Choice" and "Best Developer", this is an extra plus - the name speaks for itself.

Immediately it is worth noting applications with a small number of downloads, poor ratings and descriptions in broken Russian - most likely they are substandard.

Why Permissions Are Needed

Permissions are the actions that an application can perform after installation.

Most of the permissions are serious enough, so review the list carefully and think whether you trust the authors and are ready to resolve these actions? Often, developers ask for redundant access:

The flashlight should only have access to the camera to turn on the flash, and this app still wants to know your location, look at photos, turn on the microphone and check the Internet connection;

a simple notepad does not require any special permissions, but its analogue, which wants to view contacts, locate, access contacts, files and view phone numbers;

The KZ-CERT service recommends that you pay close attention to what the application wants to get and understand what it's for.

The same notes can request access to the Internet to sync with the account or the flashlight also has a compass, so it requests access to the sensors of the device.

But it may also be that at first sight an innocent calculator will write off all the money from the SIM card, because he was given access to SMS, or steals personal photos, because he was given access to the Internet and to files.

Sources: www.samsung.com and www.anti-malware.com

Почему не стоит устанавливать некоторые приложения?

Служба реагирования на компьютерные инциденты KZ-CERT сообщает о росте числа мобильных приложений с целью получения персональных данных своих пользователей.

Пользователь используя приложение, соглашается предоставить доступ к своим персональным данным компании, которая управляет этим приложением. Например, информация о конкретном пользователе: местонахождение, номер телефона, информация обо всех действиях в приложении, которые он совершает. Также приложение может получить доступ к списку контактов, сообщениям, фото, видео и другой информации.

Разработчики приложений, таких как «Pootin», «GetContact», «Кто мне звонил, чей номер?» и «Кто звонил, как я записан?» запрашивают доступ к телефонной книге и тем самым увеличивают риск кражи персональных данных пользователей.

C появлением социальных сетей пользователей также интересует вопрос, какие именно данные фиксируются социальными платформами, где хранится вся их конфиденциальная информация и насколько она защищена от третьих лиц.
Рассмотрим этот вопрос на примере социальной сети Facebook, которая подтвердила факт сканирования личных сообщений своих пользователей. Представители соцсети уточнили, что сообщения, отправленные по средствам Facebook Messenger, проверяются на предмет оскорбительного и противоправного содержания.

По словам представителя компании, сканируются изображения, отправленные собеседниками в чат, что позволяет быстро выявлять и реагировать на нелегальный контент, например, это касается фотографий, на которых изображена эксплуатация детей. Также сканируется и сам текст сообщений, так Facebook борется с неприемлемым и оскорбительным поведением на своей платформе.
Информация, которую собирает данная социальная сеть, может содержать ваши семейные фотографии, места, которые вы посещали, сообщения, в которых отражена ваша политическая идеология, поисковые запросы, которые вы вводили на страницах Facebook и многое другое.

Как правильно выбирать приложения

В первую очередь просмотрите несколько приложений и сравните:

  • Описание (какие у приложения функции, язык);
  • Сколько раз их скачали;
  • Какие у них оценки;
  • Какие пишут комментарии другие пользователи.


Чем больше скачиваний и выше оценка, тем меньше шанс, что возникнут неприятности.

Если у приложения есть значки «Выбор редакции» и «Лучший разработчик» , это лишний плюс - название говорит само за себя.

Сразу стоит отмести приложения с небольшим количеством загрузок, плохими оценками и описанием на ломаном русском - скорее всего они некачественные.

Для чего нужны разрешения

Разрешения - это те действия, которое сможет выполнять приложение после установки.

Большинство разрешений достаточно серьезны, поэтому просмотрите список внимательно и подумайте доверяете ли вы авторам и готовы разрешить эти действия? Часто разработчики запрашивают избыточный доступ:

  • фонарик должен иметь доступ только к камере, чтобы включать вспышку, а это приложение еще зачем-то хочет знать ваше местоположение, смотреть фотографии, включать микрофон и проверять интернет-подключение;

  • простой блокнот не требует никаких специальных разрешений, а вот его аналог, который хочет смотреть контакты, определять местоположение, получить доступ к контактам, файлам и просматривать номера телефона;

Служба KZ-CERT рекомендует внимательно относиться к тому, что приложение хочет получить и понять, для чего это нужно.

Те же заметки могут просить доступ в интернет, чтобы синхронизироваться с аккаунтом или у фонарика есть еще и компас, поэтому он запрашивает доступ к датчикам устройства.

Но и может быть так, что с первого взгляда невинный калькулятор, спишет все деньги с сим-карты, потому что ему дали доступ к смс, либо украдет личные фотографии, потому что ему дали доступ в интернет и к файлам.

Источники: www.samsung.com и www.anti-malware.ru