Violation of the rules for the registration of .kz domain names

The KZ-CERT computer incident response service performs inter-sectoral coordination of the response to information security incidents with the implementation of joint measures to ensure information security in accordance with the legislation of the Republic of Kazakhstan in accordance with subparagraph 7 of paragraph 1 of Article 7-4 of the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan "On Informatization" dated November 24 2015 No. 418-V.

In the period from January to the present KZ-CERT recorded more than 1200 incidents of information security on the domain names of the .kz zone, followed by notification of owners of Internet resources.

Owners of 288 Internet resources of the .kz zone, despite repeated notifications, work to eliminate fixed hacking, phishing pages and the spread of malicious and program code were not carried out.

In connection with the violation of subparagraph 1 "Identification of unreliable information about the registrant indicated in the application submitted by the registrant for the registration of the domain name" and subparagraph 4 "the registrant does not eliminate the information security incident, which was notified by the authorized body or from the Computer Incident Response Service Republican State Enterprise on the right of economic management "State Technical Service" of the Committee of National Security of the Republic of Kazakhstan ", paragraph 16 3 of the "Rules for Registration, Use and Distribution of Domain Names in the Space of the Kazakhstan Internet Segment" dated March 13, 2018 No. 38 / NN (hereinafter referred to as the Rules) to the Authorized Authority in the Information Security of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the "Kazakh Network Information Center" - KazNIC) sent a letter with a request to take action against 288 Internet resources.

In turn, KazNIC, in accordance with clause 18 "The Registry within 1 (one) business day suspends the registration of domain names with sending notification to the registrar on the need to eliminate the grounds for suspension of registration of a domain name in the space of the Kazakhstan Internet segment" of Chapter 3 of the Rules, suspended registration 262 domain names that did not eliminate incidents of information security. Domain Name Registrars are notified of the need to immediately take action and inform KazNIC within 10 working days from the receipt of the information.

Recommendations:

1. In order to avoid the suspension of the operation of the domain name, it is necessary to comply with the "Rules for registration, use and distribution of domain names in the space of the Kazakhstan Internet segment;

2. Check the e-mail specified in the whois-data to the domain name in a timely manner for messages from the addressee info @ kz-cert.kz / incident @ kz-cert.kz;

3. If there is no possibility to solve the incident on your own, refer to competent specialists.

After eliminating the information security incident, you must contact the KZ-CERT Service. This request will be sent to KazNIC for taking action on the domain name.

Нарушение правил регистрации доменных имен зоны .kz

Службой реагирования на компьютерные инциденты KZ-CERT осуществляется межотраслевая координация реагирования на инциденты информационной безопасности с проведением совместных мероприятий по обеспечению информационной безопасности в порядке, определяемом законодательством Республики Казахстан согласно подпункту 7 пункта 1 статьи 7-4 Закона Республики Казахстан «Об информатизации» от 24 ноября 2015 года № 418-V.

В период с января по настоящее время KZ-CERT зафиксировано более 1200 инцидентов информационной безопасности на доменных именах зоны .kz, с последующим оповещением владельцев интернет-ресурсов.

Владельцами 288 интернет-ресурсов зоны .kz, несмотря на неоднократные уведомления, работы по устранению зафиксированных взломов, фишинг-страниц и распространения вредоносного и программного кода осуществлены не были.

В связи с нарушением подпункта 1 «выявлении недостоверных сведений о регистранте, указанных в заявке, поданной регистрантом для регистрации доменного имени» и подпункта 4 «не устранении регистрантом инцидента информационной безопасности, о котором поступило оповещение от уполномоченного органа, либо от Службы реагирования на компьютерные инциденты Республиканского государственного предприятия на праве хозяйственного ведения "Государственная техническая служба" Комитета национальной безопасности Республики Казахстан»пункта 16 главы 3 «Правил регистрации, пользования и распределения доменных имен в пространстве казахстанского сегмента Интернета» от 13 марта 2018 года № 38/НҚ (далее – Правила) в адрес Уполномоченного органа в сфере информационной безопасности Республики Казахстан и «Казахского центра сетевой информации» (далее - KazNIC) направлено письмо с просьбой принять меры в отношении 288 интернет-ресурсов.

В свою очередь, KazNIC, в соответствии с пунктом 18 «Регистратура в течение 1 (одного) рабочего дня приостанавливает регистрацию доменных имен с отправлением уведомления регистратору о необходимости устранения оснований приостановления регистрации доменного имени в пространстве казахстанского сегмента Интернета» главы 3 Правил, приостановил регистрацию 262 доменных имен, не устранивших инциденты информационной безопасности. Регистраторы доменных имен оповещены о необходимостинезамедлительно принять меры и в течение 10 рабочих дней, с момента получения информации, проинформировать KazNIC.

Доля неустраненных инцидентов ИБ в хостинг-компаниях

Рекомендации:

1. Во избежание приостановления деятельности доменного имени необходимо соблюдать «Правила регистрации, пользования и распределения доменных имен в пространстве казахстанского сегмента Интернета;

2. Своевременно проверять электронную почту, указанную в whois-данных к доменному имени на наличие сообщений от адресата info@kz-cert.kz/incident@kz-cert.kz;

3. При отсутствии возможности самостоятельно устранить инцидент, обратиться к компетентным специалистам.

После устранения инцидента информационной безопасности необходимо обратиться в Службу KZ-CERT. Данное обращение будет направлено в KazNIC для принятия мер по доменному имени.