Google+ shutting down after data leak affecting 500,000 accounts

Google has announced the imminent closure of Google+ due to low users’ involvement and a bug that opened up the possibility of personal information leaks from 500,000 users. Although there is no evidence that someone really took advantage of this bug, but the company decided to close Google+ to the general public. The closure process will last 10 months and should end in the mid-2019.

During the audit of the code, which was called the “Project Strobe”, the company discovered a bug in one of the APIs that could lead to leakage of personal data from Google+ accounts. This bug allowed other applications installed by the user to access the Google+ API to read non-public information of his friends, such as name, age, gender, email address and place of work. No other data that the user submitted to Google+, including posts, messages, G Suite (Google Apps for Work) content and phone numbers, is affected by this vulnerability.

The bug existed from 2015 until March 2018, when it was discovered on Google and immediately patched. Since Google only stores API logs for Google+ for two weeks, it’s impossible to determine if anyone has managed to use it all the time, but nothing suspicious happened during those two weeks. It is worth noting that the internal committee of Google decided not to disclose information about this.

The second reason for the closure of Google+ is its unpopularity among users, the subject of numerous jokes.

So, Google+ will be gradually closed to the general public and transferred to internal use over the next ten months.


Information source: xakep.ru

Google+ закрывается после утечки данных 500 000 аккаунтов

Компания Google объявила о скором закрытии Google+ из-за низкой вовлеченности пользователей и бага, который открывал возможность утечки личной информации 500 000 аккаунтов. И, хотя нет свидетельств того, что этим багом действительно кто-то воспользовался, компания приняла решение постепенно закрыть Google+ для широкой публики. Закрытие будет длиться 10 месяцев и должно завершиться в середине 2019 года.

В ходе аудита кода, который получил название «проект Стробоскоп» (Project Strobe), компания обнаружила баг в одном из API, который мог привести к утечке личных данных из аккаунтов Google+. Этот баг позволял другим приложениям, установленным у пользователя, получать доступ к API Google+ для чтения непубличной информации его друзей, такой как имя, возраст, пол, адрес электронной почты и место работы. Никакие другие данные, которые пользователь передавал в Google+, включая посты, сообщения, содержимое G Suite (Google Apps for Work) и телефонные номера не подвержены этой уязвимости.

Баг просуществовал с 2015 года по март 2018 года, когда в Google обнаружили его и сразу же пропатчили. Поскольку Google хранит логи API для Google+ только в течение двух недель, невозможно определить, успел ли кто-либо им воспользоваться за все время, но в эти две недели ничего подозрительного не происходило. Примечательно, что внутренний комитет Google принял решение не разглашать информацию о нем.

Вторая причина для закрытия Google+ — это его непопулярность у пользователей, предмет многочисленных шуток.

Так что Google+ будет постепенно закрыт для широкой публики и переведен во внутреннее пользование в течение следующих десяти месяцев.


Источник: xakep.ru