Bank "HSBC" was the victim of an attack

The international financial giant HSBC fell victim to a cyber attack using stolen credentials (credential stuffing).

According to the HSBC notice, the incident took place last month. As it became known to the bank, in the period from 4 to 14 October, unauthorized access was obtained to some user accounts. The attack affected only HSBC customers in the United States and only 1% of all American customers (the exact number of victims was not specified).

As a result of the incident, the attackers managed to steal the names, addresses and birth dates of users, as well as banking information such as account numbers and balance sheets, transaction history and recipient account numbers. Whether the stolen data was used for criminal purposes is not specified.

The credential stuffing attack is based on automated selection of the corresponding passwords resulting from past leaks to the accounts. It is rather strange that HSBC clients could become victims of such an attack, since banks usually use two-factor authentication, and simple brute force should not work. The question arises why HSBC does not use two-factor authentication, and if it does, what then is the true cause of the leak?

HSBC sent out to customers whose accounts were affected by the attack, relevant notices and offered them a free credit history monitoring and identity theft protection service for one year.

Source: securitylab.ru

Банк «HSBC» стал жертвой атаки

Международный финансовый гигант HSBC стал жертвой кибератаки с использованием украденных учетных данных (credential stuffing).

Согласно уведомлению HSBC, инцидент имел место в прошлом месяце. Как стало известно банку, в период с 4 по 14 октября к некоторым учетным записям пользователей был получен несанкционированный доступ. Атака затронула только клиентов HSBC в США и только 1% от всех американских клиентов (точное число пострадавших не уточняется).

В результате инцидента злоумышленникам удалось похитить имена, адреса и даты рождения пользователей, а также такую банковскую информацию, как номера и балансы счетов, история транзакций и номера счетов получателей. Использовались ли похищенные данные в преступных целях, не уточняется.

Атака credential stuffing основывается на автоматизированном подборе к учетным записям соответствующих паролей, полученных в результате прошлых утечек. Весьма странно, что клиенты HSBC могли стать жертвами подобной атаки, поскольку банки обычно используют двухфакторную аутентификацию, и простой брутфорс сработать не должен. Возникает вопрос, почему HSBC не использует двухфакторную аутентификацию, а если использует, то что в таком случае является истинной причиной утечки?

HSBC разослал клиентам, чьи учетные записи были затронуты атакой, соответствующие уведомления и предложил им бесплатную услугу мониторинга кредитной истории и защиты от кражи личности в течение одного года.

Источник: securitylab.ru