WordPress bug and vulnerability in WooCommerce plugin

RIPS Technologies found a problem with the work of WordPress and the popular e-commerce WooCommerce plugin. Researchers explain that there are two problems here.

The first problem is that WordPress installs a plugin that does not create its own authentication system, but uses the existing CMS privilege system. To do this, the plugin creates a new role with the new WordPress features, and then limits its interaction with the CMS settings and other users through its own functions.

So, when installing WooCommerce, a new role for Shop Manager (“store manager”) is created, which has edit_users rights. It allows the user to edit any posts and profiles of other WordPress users, including the administrator.

WooCommerce developers have provided a feature that prohibits users from interfering with administrator profiles. But due to a flaw in the operation of the privilege management system of plugins, when WooCommerce is disabled, the function restricting “store managers” ceases to function, and users with this role can freely edit accounts of other users.

As a result, the only reliable way to disable the plugin is to disable it by the administrator, and better to delete all of its files. And here comes the second problem.

RIPS Technologies analysts have discovered a bug related to deleting WooCommerce files of version 3.4.5 and lower. Users with Shop Manager privileges can delete any plugin file, including those that are critical to its operation. After that, the plugin predictably stops working, WordPress will automatically disable it, and the situation will return to the above, when a user with the role of Shop Manager has the ability to edit the profiles of any users. The researchers explain that in such a situation for the attacker will not be difficult to capture the administrator account, and hence control over the entire site.

Experts emphasize that in order to successfully operate this scheme, an attacker will need to have access to an account with the role of a Shop manager. However, this is achievable through XSS vulnerabilities or phishing attacks.

WooCommerce developers have already eliminated the problem by releasing a new version of the plugin (3.4.6). Experts recommend that users check for plugin updates and make sure they work with the latest versions of WooCommerce.

Source: xakep.ru

Сбой в WordPress и уязвимость в плагине WooCommerce

Специалисты компании RIPS Technologies обнаружили проблему, связанную с работой WordPress и популярного e-commerce плагина WooCommerce. Исследователи объясняют, что проблем здесь сразу две.

Первая проблема заключается в том, что WordPress устанавливает плагин, который не создает собственную систему аутентификации,но использует существующую систему привилегий CMS. Для этого плагин создает новую роль с новыми возможностями WordPress, а затем ограничивает ее взаимодействие с настройками CMS и другими пользователями посредством собственных функций.

Так, при установке WooCommerce создается новая роль Shop Manager («менеджер магазина»), которая имеет права edit_users. Она позволяет пользователю редактировать любые посты и профили других пользователей WordPress, включая администратора.

Разработчики WooCommerce предусмотрели функцию, запрещающую пользователям вмешиваться в профили администраторов. Но из-за недочета в работе системы управления привилегиями плагинов, при отключении WooCommerce ограничивающая «менеджеров магазина» функция перестает действовать, и пользователи с этой ролью могут свободно редактировать учетные записи других пользователей.

В итоге единственным надежным способом отключения плагина становится его отключение со стороны администратора, а лучше удаление всех его файлов. И здесь в дело вступает вторая проблема.

Аналитики RIPS Technologies обнаружили баг, связанный с удалением файлов WooCommerce версии 3.4.5 и ниже. Пользователи с правами Shop Manager могут удалить любой файл плагина, включая критически важные для его работы. После этого плагин предсказуемо перестанет работать, WordPress автоматически отключит его, и ситуация вернется к вышеописанному, когда пользователь с ролью Shop Manager имеет возможность редактировать профили любых пользователей.

Исследователи объясняют, что в такой ситуации для атакующего не составит труда захватить аккаунт администратора, а значит и контроль над всем сайтом.

Специалисты подчеркивают, что для успешной эксплуатации данной схемы, атакующему понадобится иметь доступ к аккаунту с ролью Shop manager. Однако это достижимо посредством XSS-уязвимостей или фишинговых атак.

Разработчики WooCommerce уже устранили проблему, выпустив новую версию плагина (3.4.6). Эксперты рекомендуют пользователям проверить обновления плагинов и убедиться, что они работают с новейшей версий WooCommerce.

Источник: xakep.ru