Vulnerability in Evernote allowed to read files and execute arbitrary commands

Evernote developers have fixed vulnerability CVE-2018-18524 in Windows application by first releasing version 6.16.1 beta and then Evernote 6.16.4. The bug was discovered by Knownsec and posed a danger to versions under 6.15.

The researchers said publicly that the vulnerability allowed the remote attacker to launch arbitrary programs on the victim’s machine and execute commands, all they needed to do was share a note with the user, forcing to view it. The bug was a so-called stored XSS, that is, a “stored” or “permanent” XSS vulnerability.

Knownsec analysts say that the problem was fixed in two stages. The fact is that initially a dangerous XSS-bug was found by an information security specialist known as Sebao. He found that if you add an image to an Evernote note and then rename it, you can embed JavaScript code in the name. By sharing such a note with another user, the code will be executed when the recipient clicks on the picture.

However, the developers have fixed this problem in September this year. Knownsec specialists noticed that the vulnerability was not completely eliminated, and the ability to embed arbitrary code in the name of the attached image was still preserved. In fact, the developers only banned the use of the symbols <,>, "in the names.

Continuing to study the problem, the researchers found that the image name can still be embedded in the code to download the .js file from a remote server, and use NodeWebKit, used by Evernote in the presentation mode. That is, the exploitation of the problem required that the user not only opened the malicious note, but did so in the presentation mode. The rest of the XSS vulnerability was still in place.

Source: xakep.ru

Уязвимость в Evernote позволяла читать файлы и выполнять произвольные команды

Разработчики Evernote устранили в приложении для Windows уязвимость CVE-2018-18524, сначала выпустив версию 6.16.1 beta, а затем Evernote 6.16.4. Баг был обнаружен специалистами компании Knownsec и представлял опасность для версий младше 6.15.

Исследователи публично рассказали, что уязвимость позволяла удаленному атакующему запускать на машине жертвы произвольные программы и выполнять команды, причем для этого нужно было лишь поделиться с пользователем заметкой, вынудив ее просмотреть. Баг представлял собой так называемую stored XSS, то есть «хранимую» или «постоянную» XSS-уязвимость.

Аналитики Knownsec рассказывают, что исправление проблемы осуществлялось в два этапа. Дело в том, что изначально опасный XSS-баг нашел ИБ-специалист, известный под ником Sebao. Он обнаружил, если добавить в заметку Evernote изображение, а затем переименовать его, в имя можно встроить код JavaScript. Поделившись такой заметкой с другим пользователем, код будет выполнен, когда получатель нажмет на картинку.

Однако разработчики исправили эту проблему еще в сентябре текущего года. Специалисты Knownsec заметили, что уязвимость не устранили до конца, и возможность встроить произвольный код в имя приложенного изображения по-прежнему сохранялась. По сути, тогда разработчики лишь запретили использовать в именах символы <,>,».

Продолжив изучение проблемы, исследователи обнаружили, что в имя картинки по-прежнему можно встроить код для загрузки файла .js с удаленного сервера, и задействовать NodeWebKit, используемый Evernote в режиме презентации. То есть эксплуатация проблемы требовала, чтобы пользователь не просто открыл вредоносную заметку, но сделал это в режиме презентации. В остальном XSS-уязвимость по-прежнему была на месте.

Источник: xakep.ru