The developer has injected malicious code into the popular JavaScript library

The cybercriminal, having gained access to the popular JavaScript library, injected there a malicious code that allows you to steal Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash funds stored in BitPay Copay wallets. The presence of a malicious code was discovered last week, but only yesterday, researchers managed to understand what exactly this obfuscated code was doing. We are talking about the library Event-Stream, it downloaded the malicious content.

This is an extremely popular library, with more than two million weekly downloads. However, about three months ago, the author of Event-Stream transferred the library to another developer - Right9ctrl. Thanks to the vigilant user managed to install - Right9ctrl immediately introduced its malicious code into the development. The malicious component was seen in Event-Stream 3.3.6.

According to Twitter users, GitHub and Hacker News, the malicious code is in a state of "hibernation" until it is used inside the Copay source code (the desktop and mobile application acting as a wallet developed by the BitPay platform).

Once the malicious code gets into Copay, it will steal all user information, including private keys, and send it to copayapi.host on port 8080.

Source: anti-malware.ru

Разработчик внедрил вредоносный код в популярную библиотеку JavaScript

Киберпреступник, получив доступ к популярной библиотеке JavaScript, внедрил туда вредоносный код, позволяющий похищать средства Bitcoin и Bitcoin Cash, которые хранятся в кошельках BitPay Copay. Присутствие злонамеренного кода было обнаружено еще на прошлой неделе, но только вчера исследователям удалось понять, что именно делает этот сильно обфусцированный код. Речь идет о библиотеке Event-Stream, именно загружала злонамеренное содержимое.

Это крайне популярная библиотека, насчитывающая более двух миллионов еженедельных загрузок. Однако около трех месяцев назад автор Event-Stream передал библиотеку другому разработчику — Right9ctrl. Благодаря бдительному пользователю удалось установить — Right9ctrl немедленно внедрил свой вредоносный код в разработку. Злонамеренная составляющая была замечена в версии Event-Stream 3.3.6.

По словам пользователей Twitter, GitHub и Hacker News, вредоносный код находится в состоянии «спячки» до того момента, пока не будет использован внутри исходного кода Copay (десктопное и мобильное приложение, выступающее в качестве бумажника, разработано платформой BitPay).

Как только злонамеренный код попадет в Copay, он украдет всю информацию пользователя, включая приватные ключи, и отправит ее на адрес copayapi.host по порту 8080.

Источник: anti-malware.ru