Check Point experts identify RDP client vulnerabilities

Check Point specialists identified 25 vulnerabilities in popular RDP clients for Windows and Linux.

The researchers found that the RDP server can be used for a variety of attacks on a remote client. So, it turned out that in many cases the proper checking of packet lengths is not performed, which is why the server can send malicious packets to the client, causing out-of-bounds reading errors, overflowing integer values and preparing mail for RCE attacks on its side.

Another problem researchers call the use of a shared clipboard by the server and client. Since the traffic is not “cleared” properly, data that may be useful to an attacker to bypass the directory may be buffered, and may also be fraught with information leaks, as the server can “peep” at the client’s buffer. For example, the client copies the administrator password locally, and the server “recognizes” it too.

Also, the malicious server can modify any data in the buffer used by the client, even if the latter did not perform the “Copy” operation. Just click on "Insert" when the RDP connection is active and the client is already vulnerable to such an attack.

The greatest number of problems was found in rdesktop: 19 vulnerabilities, 11 of which are rated as “major”, can lead to the execution of arbitrary code or denial of service. As part of FreeRDP (one of the most popular and old RDP clients on GutHub), 6 vulnerabilities were discovered, 5 of which also have RCE and DoS potential.

As a result, the RPD client found in Windows was recognized as the most secure, however, it was not without problems here. The above-mentioned problem of using a common clipboard applies to this client, and this functionality is enabled by default.

Experts state with regret that although Microsoft representatives confirmed all the conclusions made by Check Point, the developers refused to recognize the detected problems as vulnerabilities and assign them a CVE identifier. In fact, Microsoft said that this is not a bug, but legitimate functionality, which means that no cost can be expected.

In turn, the developers of FreeRDP and rdesktop have already released updates for their products, correcting the gaps found by experts: versions v2.0.0-rc4 and 1.8.4, respectively.

Source: xakep.ru

Эксперты Check Point выявили уязвимости в RDP-клиентах

Специалисты компании Check Point выявили 25 уязвимостей в популярных RDP-клиентах для Windows и Linux.

Исследователи обнаружили, что RDP-сервер может использоваться для самых разных атак на удаленного клиента. Так, выяснилось, что во многих случаях не производится должная проверка длины пакетов, из-за чего сервер может направлять клиенту вредоносные пакеты, провоцируя на его стороне возникновение ошибок out-of-bounds чтения, переполнение целочисленного значения и подготавливая почту для RCE-атак.

Еще одной проблемой исследователи называют использование сервером и клиентом общего буфера обмена. Так как трафик не «очищается» должным образом, в буфер могут попадать данные, которые пригодятся злоумышленнику для атак на обход каталога, а также могут быть чреваты утечками информации, так как сервер может «подсматривать» за активностью в буфере клиента. Например, клиент локально копирует пароль администратора, и сервер «узнает» его тоже.

Также вредоносный сервер может модифицировать любые данные в буфере, которым пользуется клиент, даже если последний не осуществлял операцию «Копировать». Достаточно лишь кликнуть «Вставить», когда RDP-соединение активно, и клиент уже будет уязвим перед подобной атакой.

Наибольшее количество проблем было найдено в rdesktop: 19 уязвимостей, 11 из которых оцениваются как «крупные» (major), могут вести к исполнению произвольного кода или отказу в обслуживании. В составе FreeRDP (одного из самых популярных и старых RDP-клиентов на GutHub) были обнаружены 6 уязвимостей, 5 из которых так же имеют RCE- и DoS-потенциал.

В итоге наиболее безопасным был признан встроенный в Windows клиент RPD, однако и здесь не обошлось без проблем. Именно к этому клиенту относится вышеупомянутая проблема использования общего буфера обмена, причем эта функциональность включена по умолчанию.

Эксперты с сожалением констатируют, что хотя представители Microsoft подтвердили все выводы, сделанные Check Point, разработчики отказались признавать обнаруженные проблемы уязвимостями и присваивать им идентификатор CVE. Фактически в Microsoft заявили, что это не баг, а легитимная функциональность, а значит, никаких пачтей можно не ждать.

В свою очередь, разработчики FreeRDP и rdesktop уже выпустили обновления для своих продуктов, исправив найденные специалистами бреши: версии v2.0.0-rc4 и 1.8.4, соответственно.

Источник: xakep.ru