Vulnerability in PHP component threatens sites on Drupal, Joomla and Typo3

Web sites based on Drupal, Joomla and Typo3 content management systems are vulnerable to the execution of malicious code. The vulnerability affects the open source PharStreamWrapper PHP component developed by Typo3.

CVE-2019-11831 is a directory traversal vulnerability (path-traversal) that allows you to replace a legitimate phar archive of the site with a malicious one. A phar archive is used to store a PHP application or library in a single file.

The problem was discovered by security researcher Daniel le Gall. According to him, vulnerability is critical, however, in Drupal, it is marked as "medium critical". CVE-2019-11831 is not as dangerous as, for example, discovered in February by CVE-2019-6340, and, of course, it is far from the notorious Drupalgeddon. Joomla developers have completely rated the vulnerability as low. Nevertheless, the problem poses a threat to the security of sites, and administrators are strongly recommended to install updates, I'm sure Le Gall.

Drupal 8.7 needs to be upgraded to 8.7.1, Drupal 8.6 and earlier versions - up to 8.6.16, and Drupal 7 - to 7.67. In the case of Joomla, the vulnerability affects all versions from 3.9.3 to 3.9.5 inclusive. The fix is available in version 3.9.6.

Site administrators running Typo3 should either manually upgrade PharStreamWapper to v3.1.1 and v2.1.1, or make sure that Composer dependencies have been raised to these versions.

Source: securitylab.ru

Уязвимость в PHP-компоненте ставит под угрозы сайты на Drupal, Joomla и Typo3

Web-сайты, работающие на базе систем управления контентом Drupal, Joomla и Typo3, уязвимы к выполнению вредоносного кода. Уязвимость затрагивает разработанный Typo3 PHP-компонент PharStreamWrapper с открытым исходным кодом.

CVE-2019-11831 представляет собой уязвимость обхода каталога (path-traversal), позволяющую заменить легитимный phar-архив сайта вредоносным. Phar-архив используется для хранения PHP-приложения или библиотеки в одном файле.

Проблему обнаружил исследователь безопасности Даниэль ле Галл (Daniel le Gall). По его словам, уязвимость является критической, однако в Drupal ее отметили как «средней критичности». CVE-2019-11831 не так опасна, как, например, обнаруженная в феврале CVE-2019-6340. Разработчики Joomla и вовсе оценили опасность уязвимости как низкую. Тем не менее, проблема представляет угрозу безопасности сайтов и администраторам настоятельно рекомендуется установить обновления.

Drupal 8.7 нужно обновить до 8.7.1, Drupal 8.6 и более ранние версии – до 8.6.16, а Drupal 7 – до 7.67. В случае с Joomla уязвимость затрагивает все версии от 3.9.3 до 3.9.5 включительно. Исправление доступно в версии 3.9.6.

Администраторы сайтов под управлением Typo3 должны либо вручную обновить PharStreamWapper до v3.1.1 и v2.1.1, либо убедиться, что зависимости Composer подняты до этих версий.

Источник: securitylab.ru