Emerson Ovation controllers identify dangerous vulnerabilities

Emerson’s hardware for process control systems has buffer overflow vulnerabilities that offer the potential to elevate privileges, execute code remotely, or disrupt device operation.

Problems affect the Emerson Ovation OCR400 controllers (version 3.3.1 and below). As specified in the ICS-CERT warning, bugs are contained in a third-party FTP server implemented in the product. This software version is not supported by the manufacturer since 2015.

The first problem (CVE-2019-10965) is a stack buffer overflow vulnerability. The bug exists due to incorrect processing of LIST commands, which can lead to buffer rewriting and, as a result, the ability to execute code remotely or elevate rights.

The second problem (CVE-2019-10967) is a buffer overflow vulnerability in the heap data area, which is associated with incorrect processing of commands sent to the FTP server. This can lead to memory corruption, which can disrupt the operation of the controller, either remotely execute code or elevate privileges.

The risk of vulnerabilities is estimated at 6.3 and 6.8 points, respectively, according to the CVSS v3 scale. For their operation does not require special skills. Users of vulnerable products are encouraged to upgrade to newer software versions.

Source: securitylab.ru

В контроллерах Emerson Ovation выявлены опасные уязвимости

В оборудовании для АСУ ТП производства компании Emerson обнаружены уязвимости переполнения буфера, предоставляющие потенциальную возможность повысить привилегии, удаленно выполнить код или нарушить работу устройства.

Проблемы затрагивают контроллеры Emerson Ovation OCR400 (версия 3.3.1 и ниже). Как уточняется в предупреждении ICS-CERT, баги содержатся в стороннем FTP-сервере, реализованном в продукте. Данная версия ПО не поддерживается производителем с 2015 года.

Первая проблема (CVE-2019-10965) представляет собой уязвимость переполнения буфера стека. Баг существует из-за некорректной обработки LIST команд, что может привести к перезаписи буфера и, как результат, возможности удаленно выполнить код или повысить права.

Вторая проблема (CVE-2019-10967) - уязвимость переполнения буфера в области данных кучи, которая связана с некорректной обработкой команд, отправленных FTP-серверу. Это может привести к повреждению памяти, что позволит нарушить работу контроллера либо удаленно выполнить код или повысить привилегии.

Опасность уязвимостей оценена в 6,3 и 6,8 балла соответственно по шкале CVSS v3. Для их эксплуатации не требуются особые навыки. Пользователям уязвимых продуктов рекомендуется обновиться до более новых версий ПО.

Источник:securitylab.ru